Costa Maritime

Brasil --:-- · 24/7
A bulk carrier alongside the commercial quay of the Port of Fortaleza (Mucuripe), with ship unloaders, a long warehouse and the container yard, and wind turbines on the horizon.
Port call guide · Ceará, Brazil

Port of Fortaleza

The Port of Fortaleza, also called Mucuripe, is in the city of Fortaleza, Ceará, and is run by Companhia Docas do Ceará (CDC), a federal public company. Its commercial quay and oil pier handled 4.9 million tonnes in 2024, about half of it liquid bulk such as gasoline, diesel, crude oil and LPG, and berth 106 is the passenger terminal. Pecém, 56 km away by road, is a separate port run by CIPP S.A., covered further down this page.

03°42'38"S 038°28'30"W1

Photo: Feriado no Porto do Mucuripe - CE (3453241902) by Otávio Nogueira, CC BY 2.0. Cropped and darkened by Costa Maritime.

Port of Fortaleza at a glance

Key facts for planning a call at the Port of Fortaleza, with numbered sources
Port authority(Autoridade Portuária (Companhia Docas do Ceará))

Companhia Docas do Ceará (CDC), a federal public company under the Ministry of Ports and Airports.1, 2

docasdoceara.com.br

Harbour master(Capitania dos Portos do Ceará, NPCP-CE)
  • Capitania dos Portos do Ceará (CPCE), Brazilian Navy, Fortaleza.
  • Local rules: NPCP-CE, 3rd revision (2025 edition), approved by Portaria nº 84/CPCE of 9 December 2025 and amended by Portaria nº 22/CPCE of 9 June 2026 (Modification 01, in force since 12 June 2026).1, 3
Pilotage(Praticagem, Zona de Praticagem ZP-05)
  • Pilotage zone ZP-05 (Fortaleza and Pecém): compulsory for the whole passage between the pilot waiting position and the berth.
  • Every ship over 2,000 GT, of any flag, must take a pilot unless NORMAM-311/DPC exempts it, for example certain offshore support vessels, dredgers and small tankers that meet the conditions of item 4.4.3, or a Brazilian-flag ship of up to 100 m LOA whose master holds a pilotage exemption certificate for that port (item 2.44).
  • Brazilian-flag vessels up to 2,000 GT are exempt; foreign-flag vessels up to 2,000 GT take a pilot unless they meet the exemption terms of NORMAM-311/DPC item 4.4.3 (item 4.5 sets separate terms for Peruvian and Colombian-flag vessels).
  • A convoy whose combined gross tonnage, counting the pushing or towing vessel, exceeds 2,000 GT must take a pilot.
  • One pilot for normal manoeuvres; special manoeuvres may need a second pilot.
  • Provider: Ceará Marine Pilots (Empresa de Praticagem do Estado do Ceará Ltda), VHF channel 16.3, 4
Maximum permissible draft(Calado Máximo Recomendado (CMR), NPCP-CE)
  • Maximum recommended draft (CMR), Port of Fortaleza, per berth, as of 12 June 2026 (NPCP-CE of 9 December 2025, as amended by Portaria nº 22/CPCE of 9 June 2026): berth 103 (grain or liquid bulk) 10.30 m; berths 104, 105 and 106 (solid bulk, liquid bulk, break bulk, container or passenger ships) 11.0 m; oil pier berths 201 and 202 (petroleum product tankers) 10.40 m; berth 102 5.0 m; berth 101 is closed to commercial ships.
  • No tide window is needed up to 8.5 m at berth 103 or up to 9.0 m at berths 104, 105, 106, 201 and 202.
  • Deeper ships need a tide height, throughout the manoeuvre, at least equal to the ship's maximum draft minus 8.5 m (berth 103) or minus 9.0 m (berths 104, 105, 106, 201 and 202).
  • At berths 104, 105 and 106, solid bulk, break bulk, container and passenger ships with drafts between 10.5 m and 11.0 m manoeuvre in daylight only and use the access channel, to berth or unberth, only on a rising tide.
  • Minimum under-keel clearance alongside: 0.5 m at berths 104, 105, 201 and 202; 1.0 m at berths 102, 103 and 106.
  • The NPCP-CE gives no separate channel figure and does not state the tide datum; DHN publishes the tide predictions for Porto de Mucuripe.3, 1, 5
Maximum vessel size(Porte bruto (TPB), comprimento (LOA) e boca)
  • Maximum ship size by berth (DWT / LOA / beam), as of 12 June 2026 (NPCP-CE item 5.4 a): 102: 50,000 t / 232 m / 30 m; 103: 50,000 t / 232 m / 33 m; 104: 60,000 t / 232 m / 33 m; 105: 60,000 t / 232 m / 33 m; 106 (passenger terminal): 50,000 t / 232 m / 33 m; 201: 50,000 t / 222 m / 33 m; 202: 60,000 t / 222 m / 33 m.
  • The berth is the one alongside the larger part of the ship.
  • Calls outside these limits need a specific, temporary Capitania portaria, issued after a meeting of the port authority, pilots and Capitania (NPCP-CE chapter 5 a).1
Air draft(Calado aéreo)

NPCP-CE sets no air draft limit for the Port of Fortaleza. Its only air draft limit in Ceará is 5 m at the bridge over the Rio Ceará between Fortaleza and Caucaia, away from the port.1

Tides(Tábua de marés (DHN, Porto de Mucuripe))
  • Semidiurnal: two high and two low waters a day.
  • DHN reference station Porto de Mucuripe, Fortaleza (03°42.9'S 038°28.6'W, chart 701), mean level 1.55 m.
  • In the DHN 2026 predictions spring ranges are about 2.7 m (up to about 3.0 m) and neap ranges about 1.2 m (down to about 0.7 m); predicted heights lie between -0.05 m and 3.10 m.5
Berths and terminals(Cais comercial e píer petroleiro)
  • Commercial quay with six berths (101 to 106) and an oil pier with two berths (201, 202) on a 90 m platform reached by an 853 m trestle.
  • Berth 101 is for small craft only; berth 106 is the passenger terminal quay (350 m), leased to TERMAP.
  • Containers: CMA Terminals under a transitional lease (area MUC 04).
  • Wheat: Tergran ship unloader.
  • Main cargo in 2024: liquid bulk 50.99% of tonnage (gasoline, diesel, crude oil, LPG), then agricultural and mineral solid bulk, containers and general cargo.6, 1, 7, 8
Clearance authorities(Receita Federal, ANVISA, Polícia Federal e VIGIAGRO)
  • Customs: Alfândega da Receita Federal em Fortaleza (ALF - Fortaleza), Av. Vicente de Castro 6971, Cais do Porto.
  • Health: ANVISA, through its Ceará ports and airports unit (CVPAF-CE), grants free pratique, which the agent can request by radio or message up to 24 hours before arrival; ships placed in quarantine use anchorages No. 1 and No. 2 (chart DHN 701).
  • Immigration and crew: Polícia Federal, which boards on arrival with port health and customs.
  • Agriculture: MAPA VIGIAGRO, Serviço de Vigilância Agropecuária Internacional de Fortaleza (SEV-FOR).9, 1, 10, 11
Crew change airport(Aeroporto Internacional Pinto Martins)
  • Pinto Martins International Airport, Fortaleza (ICAO SBFZ), an international aerodrome (AD INTL) operated by Fraport Brasil.
  • About 13 km by road from the port, roughly 20 minutes without traffic (approximate route on OpenStreetMap data).12, 13, 14
Dredged depth and access channel(Canal de acesso (Norte-Sul) e bacia de evolução)
  • Access channel (Norte-Sul) about 3,500 m long with an average depth of 14 m (CDC).
  • In April 2026 CDC reported that the channel had been widened after a Class A survey, that a new Oeste-Leste channel of more than 12 m depth had been identified, and that it had sent a revised buoyage project to the Navy.
  • Turning basin 610 m wide, depth between 13.5 m and 14 m, sheltered by a 1,910 m breakwater (NPCP-CE 2025).
  • These are depths, not permitted drafts.2, 1, 15
Anchorages(Fundeadouros)
  • Seven designated anchorages (NPCP-CE 5.5).
  • No. 1: ships over 7 m draft, 0.3 NM radius centred 03°41.74'S 038°30.31'W.
  • No. 2: ships over 2,000 GT with draft up to 7 m, 0.3 NM radius centred 03°42.13'S 038°29.78'W.
  • No. 3: vessels of 200 to 2,000 GT, 0.2 NM radius centred 03°42.47'S 038°29.41'W.
  • No. 7: ships over 9 m draft, circle of 0.5 NM diameter centred 03°39.20'S 038°25.00'W.
  • Nos. 4, 5 and 6 are for harbour craft and fishing boats.
  • Quarantine and explosives work use anchorages No. 1 and No. 2.
  • Anchoring is prohibited in the access channel and manoeuvring basin of the Port of Fortaleza except during emergency manoeuvres (NPCP-CE 5.5 b, as amended by Portaria nº 22/CPCE of 9 Jun 2026).1, 3
Restrictions(Restrições operacionais)
  • As of 12 June 2026 (NPCP-CE of 9 December 2025, as amended by Portaria nº 22/CPCE of 9 June 2026), the port works 24 hours a day, every day.
  • Maximum speed 10 knots in the channel and turning basin; no crossing or overtaking there.
  • At berths 104, 105 and 106, solid bulk, break bulk, container and passenger ships with drafts between 10.5 m and 11.0 m manoeuvre in daylight only and use the access channel only on a rising tide.
  • Ships with structural or machinery damage or restricted manoeuvrability need prior Capitania authorization to come within 12 NM or enter the channel.
  • Bulk and combination carriers aged 18 years or more loading solid bulk of 1.78 t/m³ or more must present a condition survey declaration.3, 1
Tugs(Rebocadores e lanchas de amarração)
  • Tugs are compulsory for every berthing and unberthing; the master decides how many and how to use them, preferably after hearing the pilot.
  • All tugs must be azimuth type with a towing winch.
  • Recommended number and total bollard pull by ship type and DWT are in NPCP-CE Annex 4-H (for example, a bulk carrier or general cargo ship between 40,001 and 60,000 DWT without bow thruster: 2 or 3 tugs, 92 t bollard pull to berth).
  • At the oil pier at least one twin-shaft mooring launch is required; two are required for tankers with steel mooring wires, for tankers between 40,001 and 50,000 DWT at berth 201 and for tankers between 40,001 and 60,000 DWT at berth 202.1
Pilot boarding(Ponto de espera de prático)
  • Pilot boarding points: inner point for ships with draft under 9 m, 03°41.7'S 038°29.9'W; outer point for ships with draft of 9 m or more, 03°39.542'S 038°29.229'W (also the Fortaleza point in the national list, NORMAM-311/DPC Annex 4-B).
  • While waiting, ships fly the 'I require a pilot' and draft signals.
  • Berthing manoeuvres are requested from CDC (CODGEP) through Porto Sem Papel at least 48 hours before the intended berthing time.3, 4, 16
Weather limits(Limite de vento e impraticabilidade)
  • Wind limit 22 knots for general cargo, container and bulk ships with draft of 10.60 m or more and for tankers with draft over 10.30 m; limits may be reduced when north-westerly or northerly swell and wind prevail.
  • The Capitania closes the port to pilotage at significant wave height of 1.5 m or more, sustained wind (15 minutes) of 30 knots or more, or visibility of 0.5 NM or less.
  • VHF channels 10 and 13 are reserved for ships and pilots during manoeuvres.1
Bunkers, fresh water and waste reception(Água e resíduos)
  • Fresh water, power and communications can be supplied to ships at berth as port services.
  • Ship waste is collected by companies accredited by CDC, which must report collection times within 48 hours of the arrival notice.
  • Bunker supply was not confirmed in an official source.16
Main cargo and throughput(Movimentação de cargas)

4,943,073 t in 2024, up 8.85% on 2023: liquid bulk 2,520,714 t, solid bulk 1,702,822 t, general cargo 719,537 t.6

For planning reference only, not for navigation. Drafts depend on tide, under-keel clearance, ship type and the current port authority and Capitania dos Portos rules; the pilots and the Capitania have the final word. Confirm before fixing the vessel. Our operations desk can obtain the current figure from the pilots.

Planning a call at Fortaleza

  • Check the berth, not just the port: as of 12 June 2026 the Capitania's maximum recommended draft is 11.0 m at berths 104, 105 and 106, 10.40 m at the oil pier and 10.30 m at berth 103. Above 9.0 m (8.5 m at berth 103) a ship needs a tide at least equal to its draft minus that figure throughout the manoeuvre.
  • Between 10.5 m and 11.0 m at berths 104, 105 and 106, solid bulk, break bulk, container and passenger ships manoeuvre in daylight only and use the access channel only on a rising tide.
  • Ships drawing 9 m or more take the pilot at the outer point, 03°39.542'S 038°29.229'W, and shallower ships at the inner point. Berthing is requested from CDC through Porto Sem Papel at least 48 hours before the intended berthing time.
  • Berths 103, 104, 105 and 106 take ships up to 232 m LOA and 33 m beam (60,000 DWT at 104 and 105), and the oil pier up to 222 m. A call outside these limits needs a temporary Capitania portaria, issued after a meeting of the port authority, pilots and Capitania.
  • The wind limit is 22 knots for cargo, container and bulk ships drawing 10.60 m or more and for tankers over 10.30 m, and the Capitania closes the port to pilotage at waves of 1.5 m, sustained wind of 30 knots or visibility of 0.5 NM.

Before arrival, your agent requests the berthing from CDC through Porto Sem Papel at least 48 hours ahead and can request free pratique from ANVISA (CVPAF-CE) by radio or message up to 24 hours before arrival. The Polícia Federal boards on arrival with port health and customs.

Nearby port: Pecém

Pecém is a separate port with its own administration: CIPP S.A., a Ceará state company, runs the Terminal Portuário do Pecém, an offshore terminal in São Gonçalo do Amarante, 56 km by road from Fortaleza. It shares pilotage zone ZP-05 and the Capitania dos Portos do Ceará with Fortaleza, and its multipurpose terminal (TMUT) takes container ships up to 366 m LOA.

03°32'02"S 038°47'58"W1

Key facts for planning a call at Pecém, with numbered sources
Port authority(CIPP S.A., Terminal Portuário do Pecém)

CIPP S.A. (Companhia de Desenvolvimento do Complexo Industrial e Portuário do Pecém), a Ceará state mixed-capital company, administers and operates the Terminal Portuário do Pecém, a private-use port facility in São Gonçalo do Amarante, 56 km by road from Fortaleza.1, 17

complexodopecem.com.br

Pilotage(Praticagem, Zona de Praticagem ZP-05)
  • Pilotage zone ZP-05 (Fortaleza and Pecém), compulsory on the same terms as Fortaleza; provider Ceará Marine Pilots.
  • Pilot waiting position 03°28.5'S 038°47.7'W (NPCP-CE; the national list, NORMAM-311/DPC, gives 03°28'30"S 038°47'48"W).
  • Container ships with LOA between 340 m and 366 m berth in daylight only, with the pilot boarding between 05:30 and 16:30 local time; unberthing and shifting along the berth may take place by day or night.
  • These ships take two pilots and a portable pilot unit (PPU); a pilot who has done at least 10 such manoeuvres may assist alone, with the PPU still mandatory.
  • Four azimuth tugs are required throughout the manoeuvre, two of at least 50 t and two of at least 70 t bollard pull.
  • Container ships with LOA between 320 m and 339 m take one pilot and four azimuth tugs to berth.1, 3, 4
Maximum permissible draft(Calado Máximo Recomendado (CMR), NPCP-CE item 5.1 b)
  • Maximum recommended draft (CMR), Pecém, as of 12 June 2026 (NPCP-CE of 9 December 2025, as amended by Portaria nº 22/CPCE of 9 June 2026): static draft with 30 cm under-keel clearance, no dredged channel, valid without negative tide: Pier 1 berth 1 14.00 m, berth 2 14.70 m; Pier 2 berths 3 and 4 15.40 m; TMUT berths 5 to 10 15.30 m.
  • Without a tide window: 12.11 m (berth 1), 13.20 m (berths 2 and 5 to 10), 13.32 m (berths 3 and 4); deeper ships need a tide equal to their deepest draft minus that figure.
  • A negative tide reduces the CMR by the same amount; tide windows are set by the pilots.
  • On the TMUT, under-keel clearance is only 24 cm between bollards 25 and 26, and depth is 14.84 m between bollards 52 and 56.
  • LNG carriers at berths 3 and 4 should preferably berth in daylight.
  • Recommended wind limit for manoeuvres 24 knots.1, 3
Berths and terminals(Píer 1, Píer 2 e TMUT)
  • Offshore terminal behind an L-shaped berm breakwater, linked to shore by a 2,502 m access bridge.
  • Pier 1 (berths 1 and 2): solid bulk, non-containerised cargo and petroleum product transhipment.
  • Pier 2 (berths 3 and 4): liquid bulk, including LNG carriers.
  • TMUT multipurpose terminal (1,800 m, berths 5 to 10): solid bulk, containers and general cargo.1, 17

Port of Fortaleza: frequently asked questions

What is the maximum draft at the Port of Fortaleza?

Under the Capitania's NPCP-CE as amended on 12 June 2026 (Portaria nº 22/CPCE), the maximum recommended draft is 11.0 m at berths 104, 105 and 106, 10.40 m at oil pier berths 201 and 202, 10.30 m at berth 103 and 5.0 m at berth 102. Above 9.0 m (8.5 m at berth 103) the tide must be at least the draft minus that figure throughout the manoeuvre, and between 10.5 m and 11.0 m solid bulk, break bulk, container and passenger ships at berths 104, 105 and 106 manoeuvre in daylight only and use the access channel only on a rising tide. The norm does not state the tide datum, so the pilots confirm the draft for each call.

Where does the pilot board for the Port of Fortaleza?

Ships drawing 9 m or more take the pilot at the outer point, 03°39.542'S 038°29.229'W; ships drawing less, at the inner point, 03°41.7'S 038°29.9'W (NPCP-CE, as amended in June 2026). Pilotage in zone ZP-05 is compulsory from the pilot waiting position to the berth for every ship over 2,000 GT unless NORMAM-311/DPC exempts it. The pilots are Ceará Marine Pilots, on VHF channel 16.

How many tugs are needed at the Port of Fortaleza?

Tugs are compulsory for every berthing and unberthing, and all must be azimuth tugs with a towing winch. The master decides how many, preferably after hearing the pilot; the Capitania's Annex 4-H recommends numbers and total bollard pull by ship type and size, for example 2 or 3 tugs and 92 t of bollard pull to berth a bulk carrier or general cargo ship between 40,001 and 60,000 DWT without bow thruster.

Can ships anchor in the access channel of the Port of Fortaleza?

No. Since the Capitania's June 2026 amendment (Portaria nº 22/CPCE), anchoring is prohibited in the access channel and manoeuvring basin of the Port of Fortaleza except during emergency manoeuvres. Ships drawing over 7 m use anchorage No. 1, and ships drawing over 9 m anchorage No. 7, as designated in the NPCP-CE.

What is the maximum draft at Pecém, near Fortaleza?

At Pecém, 56 km from Fortaleza, the NPCP-CE as amended in June 2026 sets a maximum static draft of 14.00 m at Pier 1 berth 1, 14.70 m at berth 2, 15.40 m at Pier 2 berths 3 and 4 and 15.30 m at the TMUT berths 5 to 10, with 30 cm under-keel clearance and no negative tide. Without a tide window the limits are 12.11 m, 13.20 m or 13.32 m depending on the berth; tide windows are set by the pilots, who confirm the draft for each call.

Which airport do crews use for a crew change at Fortaleza?

Pinto Martins International Airport (SBFZ), operated by Fraport Brasil, about 13 km by road from the port, roughly 20 minutes without traffic.

Working with Costa Maritime at Fortaleza

We mobilize our team across northeastern Brazil.

Proforma disbursement account (PDA)

Send the vessel type, GT and NT, LOA, beam and drafts, the purpose of the call, the cargo and the expected days in port, and we prepare your proforma disbursement account.

Request a PDA for Fortaleza

The PDA is an estimate based on the particulars you send and the tariffs and exchange rate in force; the final disbursement account (FDA) reflects the actual call.

Sources

  1. NPCP-CE, 3ª Revisão (2025), Marinha do Brasil, Capitania dos Portos do Ceará, 9 December 2025. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  2. Conheça o Porto, Companhia Docas do Ceará. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  3. Portaria nº 22/2026/CPCE, de 9 de junho de 2026 (Modificação 01 da NPCP-CE, em vigor em 12 de junho de 2026), Marinha do Brasil, Capitania dos Portos do Ceará (CPCE), 9 June 2026. Accessed 22 October 2026.
  4. NORMAM-311/DPC (2026; Mod. 5, Portaria DPC/DGN/MB nº 206 of 21 Sep 2026), Marinha do Brasil, Diretoria de Portos e Costas (DPC), 21 September 2026. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  5. Tábua de marés 2026, Porto de Mucuripe - Fortaleza (Carta 701), Marinha do Brasil, Centro de Hidrografia da Marinha (DHN), 2026. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  6. Relatório da Administração 2024, Companhia Docas do Ceará, 2025. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  7. Contratos de Exploração de Área (última atualização 11/05/2026), Companhia Docas do Ceará, 11 May 2026. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  8. Projetos de arrendamento: MUC04 (Fortaleza), Agência Nacional de Transportes Aquaviários (ANTAQ), 9 October 2026 (page updated). Accessed 21 October 2026.
  9. Quem é quem: Alfândegas, Ceará (Alfândega de Fortaleza), Receita Federal do Brasil. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  10. GGPAF Regional Nordeste: Ceará (CVPAF-CE), Agência Nacional de Vigilância Sanitária (ANVISA). Accessed 21 October 2026.
  11. Unidades de Vigilância Agropecuária Internacional, DIGRV-NE, Ministério da Agricultura e Pecuária (VIGIAGRO), 12 January 2026. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  12. AISWEB, Pinto Martins (SBFZ) Fortaleza/CE, DECEA. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  13. Aeroportos concedidos: Fortaleza, ANAC. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  14. OSRM driving route, port reference position to SBFZ ARP (approximate), Project OSRM, 21 October 2026. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  15. Porto de Fortaleza avança seu processo de modernização do acesso aquaviário, Companhia Docas do Ceará, 27 April 2026. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  16. Regulamento de Exploração do Porto de Fortaleza (REP), serviços diversos, Companhia Docas do Ceará, 26 September 2022. Accessed 21 October 2026.
  17. Porto - Complexo do Pecém, CIPP S/A. Accessed 21 October 2026.

Last reviewed: October 2026

Planning a call at Fortaleza?

Send the vessel particulars and the dates. We prepare the PDA and coordinate the call with one point of contact.